quinta-feira, 4 de novembro de 2010

Zakk Wylde

After spending several years with Ozzy Osbourne and recording one album with the heavy Southern rock trio Pride & Glory, guitarist Zakk Wylde released his debut solo album, Book of Shadows, in June of 1996. Naturally, the album is a guitar showcase, with each song boasting a dazzling guitar solo or two. That much was expected. What is a surprise is the musical diversity apparent throughout the album. Wylde does kick out some heavy riff-driven rockers, but he also detours into blues, country, and folk on occasion. That diversity ensures that Book of Shadows is more listenable for the average listener than most guitarist-led albums. However, Wylde's songwriting skills remain weak; although the playing is memorable, the melodies rarely are. Nevertheless, there's enough prime instrumental work here to make it a very worthwhile listen for guitar aficionados and a few of the tracks should satiate fans of straight-ahead heavy boogie rock.
~ by Stephen Thomas Erlewine, allmusic.com

Zakk Wylde - Book Of Shadows (1996)
MP3 CBR 320 Kbps 150 MB Heavy/Southern Rock Label: Geffen/MCA Victor Japan RAR 3% Rec. HotFile & FileServe... Japanese 1st Press CD with bonus track ...

1. Between Heaven And Hell - 3:26
2. Sold My Soul - 4:53
3. Road Back Home - 5:48
4. Way Beyond Empty - 5:25
5. Throwin' It All Away - 5:47
6. What You're Look'n For - 5:31
7. Dead As Yesterday - 2:51
8. Too Numb To Cry - 2:23
9. The Things You Do - 4:12
10. 1,000,000 Miles Away - 6:29
11. I Thank You Child - 4:41