quarta-feira, 2 de fevereiro de 2011

Outro CD de Shirley Collins

Shirley Collins - The Power Of The True Love Knot (1967)
MP3 CBR 320Kbps / 117 Mb 14 tracks Covers (600 dpi)
British Folk Fledg'ling Records FLED 3028 Time: 42:37 FileSonic, FileServe

While credited to Shirley Collins, this reissue of a 1967 album is really the work of Collins and her sister, Dolly Collins, who provides the fascinating instrumental settings courtesy of a modern reproduction of a 1643 miniature pipe organ, with its distinctive flutey sound. That sound, combined with Dolly Collins' arrangements and keyboard decorations, give these traditional songs the sound of early music: restrained and almost medieval. The expansive sleeve notes give a background to the songs (Collins had worked as a researcher, both in England and the U.S., where she helped Alan Lomax during his 1959 U.S. field recordings)...

1. Bonnie Boy (3:45)
2. Richie Story (4:18)
3. Lovely Joan (2:31)
4. Just As The Tide Was Flowing (1:40)
5. The Unquiet Grave (3:27)
6. Black-eyed Susan (3:36)
7. Seven Yello Gipsies (1:48)
8. Over The Hills And Far Away (2:28)
9. Greenwood Laddie (1:45)
10. Lady Margaret And Sweet William (5:11)
11. The Maydens Came (2:00)
12. Polly Vaughan (2:50)
13. The Barley Straw (3:52)